• Adelina Priddis

2022 Caldecott and Honor Winners

We’ve all heard the phrase, a picture is worth a thousand words. When it comes to children’s picture books, this sentiment can really make or break the book. Children everywhere snuggle up with loved ones, and flip pages of these books taking in the pictures. Before kids can even speak, let alone read, the pictures draw them in. When pictures paired with the right words make a story flow, and draw both children and adults in, you know you have found a good one.

Named for Randolph Caldecott, a nineteenth century British illustrator known for the fluid movement his art portrayed, the Caldecott Medal has been given out since 1938. It is given to the most distinguished American picture book for children. These books have taken words paired with illustrations, and created not just a fun story, but a masterpiece. These books are what become classics.

2022 Caldecott Winner

Watercress written by Andrea Wang and illustrated by Jason Chin

2022 Caldecott Honors

Have You Ever Seen a Flower written and illustrated by Shawn Harris

Mel Fell written and illustrated by Corey R. Tabor

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre written by Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrated by Floyd Cooper

Wonder Walkers written and illustrated by Micha Archer

41 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All